everyone talks about how terrible tumblr was from 2012-2014, but let me tell you, as someone who has been on this website for 5 years, 2015-2017 has been the absolute fucking worst from blatant bullying, to spreading extremely diluted information about mental illness, excusing unhealthy coping mechanisms, and adopting black and white thinking skills. yeah sure, there was some cringy shit back in 2012, but at least people were fucking nice to each other
all i think of whenever i see this post is the time in 2012-2014 tumblr when someone literally got ran off the site because they thought a picture of ice cream was mashed potatoes
Conservatives have so much fucking nerve talking about how “ENVIRONMENTAL REGULATIONS ARE OUT OF CONTROL” when absolutely no-one feels inconvenienced by them or has ever even encountered them in their personal lives unless they’re the CEO’s of a megaconglomerate bitter that they couldn’t rip up a national park and buy like their fifth house boat
Yeah, it’s literally the Kochs saying “It’s so UNFAIR that when the oil pipelines we own but don’t maintain bust and flood a town with toxic sludge, that WE have to pay to fix it.” and “An employee we forced to clean chemical storage tanks without the proper gear for 15 years developed cancer, and they’re allowed to sue us over it? TYRANNY!!”
How is it never occurred to me to put it like this before?
I just got a new laptop and it doesn’t have AdBlocker yet and I swear to god I’ve never seen an ad on tumblr because I just watched a 3 minute video about Cruise Holidays because I thought it was an elaborate shitpost